Teams confirmed for Priory Park centenary cricket match

Goodwood Estate | Press Article 16/04/24

Teams confirmed for Priory Park centenary cricket match

Sussex Cricket and Goodwood are delighted to announce the teams for a T20 challenge match between Sussex and a Duke of Richmond’s XI at Priory Park, Chichester on Saturday 29th September.

The match – to be played in whites and with a red ball - is part of the celebrations to mark the centenary of the 7th Duke of Richmond’s gift of Priory Park to the people of Chichester.

The Duke’s team will be captained by his eldest son Charlie March and includes representation from nearly all forms of adult cricket. The men’s professional game is represented by Luke Wright, Chris Jordan and Jofra Archer and ladies’ professional game by Danni Wyatt and Georgia Adams. League cricket will be represented by Matt Geffen and John Edwards, both of CPP, Sunday cricket by James Mayne, Goodwood evening 20/20 cricket by Barney Trafford and senior cricket by Andy Barnes.

Sussex Cricket Chief Executive, Rob Andrew, who will also be part of the Duke’s team, said; “Sussex Cricket are delighted to be part of the 100-year celebrations of the gifting of Priory Park to the people of Chichester by the 7th Duke of Richmond. The rich history of Goodwood and cricket stretches back several hundred years when the game was first created in this part of Sussex.

“We are looking forward to bringing our squad to Priory Park and to building a stronger connection between Sussex Cricket and Goodwood over the years to come. I look forward to seeing everyone on 29th September.”

The Teams for the match are confirmed as follows: -

Sussex CCC                                                            Duke of Richmond’s XI

Ben Brown (Capt)                                                      Charlie March (Capt)

Will Beer                                                                   Matt Geffen (CPP Capt)

Danny Briggs                                                            Rob Andrew (Sussex CEO)

Michael Burgess                                                         James Mayne (Goodwood Capt)

Laurie Evans                                                             Barney Trafford (Goodwood Staff Capt)

Harry Finch                                                               Danni Wyatt (Sussex/England)

Tom Haines                                                              Georgia Adams (Sussex Capt)

Ollie Robinson                                                          Chris Jordan (Sussex/England)

Abi Sakande                                                              Jofra Archer (Sussex)

Phil Salt                                                                     Luke Wright (Sussex/England)

Stuart Whittingham                                                    John Edwards (CPP) (wkt)

Tymal Mills                                                                Andy Barnes (CPP, Sussex, England Snrs)

Delray Rawlins

George Garton

Luke Wells

David Weise


For press information on Goodwood Cricket Club, please contact Sam Hanson;


T: 07790 921688

For press information on Sussex CCC, please contact Sam Keir;


T: 07733 078904